What is the Larry Bird Trophy? NBA's Eastern Conference Finals MVP award pays tribute to Celtics legend

  • 23.05.2023 14:52:07

In 2022, the NBA introduced several new trophies to celebrate the league's 75th anniversary. One of those is the Larry Bird Trophy.

Named after the former Celtics great, the trophy was introduced to honor a former legend, as well as current stars who are on their way to cementing their own legendary status. Unfortunately for the Celtics, they will likely have to watch as the trophy is handed out to one of their opponents this year.

Here's everything you need to know about the relatively new trophy and who could lift it this season:

What is the Larry Bird Trophy?
The Larry Bird Trophy will be awarded to the MVP of the Eastern Conference Finals.

The trophy was introduced last season as a part of the NBA's 75th anniversary celebrations. The inaugural award, fittingly, went to Celtics star Jayson Tatum, who helped lead his team to an appearance in the 2022 NBA Finals. 

The NBA is naming its conference champion trophies after two NBA legends, Bob Cousy and Oscar Robertson, for their outstanding contributions on the court and the impact they made as early presidents of the NBPA.

Larry Bird and Earvin "Magic" Johnson helped define the modern NBA with their individual brilliance and team success in the 1980s. The two legends are honored as the namesakes for the trophies that will now be awarded each year to the Eastern and Western Conference Finals MVPs.

The league also introduced the Earvin "Magic" Johnson trophy, which is awarded annually to the MVP of the Western Conference Finals. Warriors star Stephen Curry received the honor last season.

The Bob Cousy Trophy will still be awarded to the team that emerges victorious in the Eastern Conference Finals, while the Oscar Robertson Trophy will be awarded to the Western Conference champion. 

 Who will win the Larry Bird trophy in 2023?

The obvious frontrunner for the award this year is Heat star Jimmy Butler.

Butler has been sensational throughout the 2023 postseason and has helped Miami build a 3-0 series lead over the Celtics. He is averaging 29.9 points, 6.7 rebounds and 5.7 assists in the playoffs so far. 

The Legend 33 "$19.99"

His 35-point performance in Game 1 helped the Heat take an early series lead, and they haven't looked back. They are now a single win away from punching their ticket to the NBA Finals. 

Larry Bird Playoffs history

Bird dominated the Eastern Conference as a member of the Celtics in the '80s and helped lead his team to five Finals appearances. He and his teammates went head-to-head with Magic Johnson and the Lakers on three occasions.

Bird led Boston to three NBA Championships in 1981, 1984 and 1986.

3-time NBA champion
2-time Finals MVP
3-time Most Valuable Player
12-time NBA All-Star
NBA All-Star Game MVP (1982)
9-time All-NBA First Team
NBA Aniversary Team (50th and 75th)
No. 33 jersey retired by the Celtics 

sportingnews - Sam Jarden 

Latest Articles